Is Anything Worth Dying For?

Encounters of Faith in Asia: Past, Present and Future

Tomorrow across the USA, and perhaps globally, the movie Silence will open in broad release. I am on my way to Asia as I write this post, and hoping to see it soon. In case you missed my two previous posts on this movie, based on a book by Japanese novelist Shusako Endo, I’m expecting it to be a powerful statement on not only what is worth dying for, but what is worth living for. (See my posts Silence: The End of Triumphalism and Silence Part 2: The ‘Hidden’ Japanese Christians ) It is a Martin Scorsese directed film which took 20 years to bring to the screen. Scorsese was raised in a Catholic home and inspired by the life of Father John Principe, who introduced him and his friends to new movies but interpreted them from a moral perspective. Scorsese writes “I thought if I could become a priest…

View original post 786 more words

Leave a Reply

